Depot 573 and The Literary Consultancy

tlc_header.gif 

I’ve received my manuscript appraisal back from The Literary Consultancy, my prize for Depot 573 being one of the top 100 novels in the 100th anniversary Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook competition. 

The appraisal was full of head-swelling comments, such as, “This is a lively and entertaining read, with an excellent page-turning quality – and a great title!” It also contained lots of advice and suggestions, so it is with these in mind that I am embarking on the (current) final redraft before I start the frightening task of trying to catch the eye of an agent.  

I’ll keep you posted.

About djpaterson

Reader, Writer, Arithmeticer. Not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Depot 573 and The Literary Consultancy

  1. Jeff says:

    Hi DJ, I always enjoy your comments on Meg’s blog so I thought I’d wander over and check out Depot 573. I really enjoyed it. Can’t wait to read the published version! 🙂

  2. djpaterson says:

    Hi Jeff

    Thanks for your kind comments. I have started the re-edit, although I did not get as much done on my holiday as I had hoped. My aim is to work hard during the rest of August and September and then see if Depot 573 is good enough to interest an agent. Easier said than done, I feel – there’s a lot of competition out there.

    Regards

    DJ

  3. Meg says:

    Yes, there’s a lot of competition out there, but agents and publishers are hungry for good material, as are all of us reading addicts. Write great stuff, and it will stand out!

    Just don’t get sidelined writing too many NASCAR stories, fabulous though they are.

  4. djpaterson says:

    Thanks Meg

    Even writing naff NASCAR novel openers is good practice, though!

    DJ

  5. Charlie S says:

    I agree with the reviewers comments. Depot is a real page-turner (not that the online version has any seperate pages 2 turn). Good Luck with it. 🙂

Look, if you've taken the time to read this, you may as well let me know by leaving a comment. Go on, you know you want to.

