I think I may die next year…

But I’m more excited than worried! And anyway, I still might not die.

If you think my attitude is flippant, I ought to explain that my death will only be on paper (hopefully!). I won a competition on Meg Gardiner’s blog to have a character in her next Jo Beckett book named after me. Chances are Jo isn’t going to be taking up with a new long-term lover called DJ, so I guess my namesake’s appearance will be more akin to that of a USS Enterprise “Red Shirt“.

That means short-lived if you’re not a Captain Kirk fan.

If you’ve not read the first Jo Beckett novel, why not? Go buy it. Here it is:

About djpaterson

Reader, Writer, Arithmeticer. Not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Writers, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I think I may die next year…

  1. Bob Lock says:

    Hi DJ
    Thanks for commenting over on my blog about my Podcasts, much appreciated. It’s helpful to get some input and to know if you are on the right track or not etc. 🙂

    Regarding Meg,
    Congrats on becoming a character in her new book, hey, as you are in deep with her now, perhaps she’ll show you the famous Star Trek photo!

    http://www.jeffvandermeer.com/2008/09/04/promises-and-deadlines/

    Best,
    Bob

  2. djpaterson says:

    I’m not holding my breath!

  3. Pingback: Did I die…? « djpaterson

Look, if you've taken the time to read this, you may as well let me know by leaving a comment. Go on, you know you want to.

