Books for Writers

Books I’d recommend for writers:

The Elements of Style – Strunk & White

The Elements of Style

The smallest (and best) book covering the elementary rules of vocabulary usage and principles of composition you’ll ever need.

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers (or how to edit yourself into print) – Rennie Browne & Dave King

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers

A really useful book by two very resepected American Editors.

On Writing – Stephen King

On Writing

Half memoir, half writer’s manual, all entertainment.

Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook

Writers' & Artists' Yearbook

The industry bible to the published and unpublished alike.

Now I have a number of other books on my shelves that I don’t have the same enthusiasm for, so I’m not going to promote them here. One book I have been recommended to read time and again is aimed for screenplay writers, but I am told is of equal use to the novelist. That’s Story, by Robert McKee.

Story

Any other suggestions?

Update 20th September: Darksculptures has added two to the list:

Bird by Bird – Anne Lamott

Bird by Bird

Zen in the Art of Writing – Ray Bradbury

Zen in the Art of Writing

About djpaterson

Reader, Writer, Arithmeticer. Not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Grammar, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books for Writers

  1. I enjoyed, Zen in the Art of Writing, by Ray Bradbury. Mostly because of his brutal honesty which helps me keep myself in check.

    I also enjoyed, bird by bird, by Anne Lamott. This book reminds me I am not completely crazy when I hear those character voices in my head. It also reminds me I am allowed to write crap–I just have to remember not to post it.

  2. djpaterson says:

    I’d forgotton about Bird by Bird – thanks. Hadn’t heard of the Ray Bradbury one, even though I was a bit of a few (quite) a few years ago.

Look, if you've taken the time to read this, you may as well let me know by leaving a comment. Go on, you know you want to.

