Are all monks assassins?

I’m pretty sure not, but that was the first question that jumped into my mind, lunchtime yesterday.

Remember I recently reviewed Simon Toyne’s excellent debut novel, Sanctus? I drew favourable comparisons with Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code, including the use of assassin monks. I had only recently been thinking about this book, so imagine my surprise when a monk came into the canteen yesterday lunchtime, ordered pie and beans (I know, no chips!) and sat at an adjacent table.

Now monks may be commonplace where you live, but I can’t remember the last time I saw one. In fact, other than Friar Tuck on Robin Hood, I can’t remember ever seeing one. And is a Friar a monk anyway?

I casually snapped a photo on my phone (must get a better phone that takes better photos) and am posting it here for all to see. I have disguised the monk’s face. If he is an assassin I don’t want him trying to track me down for compromising his mission.

On the other hand, if he isn’t supposed to eat pie and beans on a Friday, I don’t want him to get into trouble for that, either.

About djpaterson

Reader, Writer, Arithmeticer. Not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Books, General, Weird, Writers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are all monks assassins?

  1. Meg says:

    Are you still here, DJ? Just checking that Mr. Pie and Beans didn’t take you out with a sharpened spoon.

  2. All very enjoyable…please put a Subscribe button somewhere so I can get notice of your new posts….& thx

  3. Charlie S says:

    It’s hard to tell with the blurry photo, but I’m sure he’s making ninja fist with his left hand!

Look, if you've taken the time to read this, you may as well let me know by leaving a comment. Go on, you know you want to.

