The impotance of spelling

UK entrepenuer, Charles Duncombe, has highlighted that poor spelling is a serious problem for the online economy and is costing online businesses millions.  He says it is possible to identify the specific impact on sales:

[Duncombe] measured the revenue per visitor to the tightsplease.co.uk website and found that the revenue was twice as high after an error was corrected.

“If you project this across the whole of internet retail then millions of pounds worth of business is probably being lost each week due to simple spelling mistakes,” says Mr Duncombe, director of the Just Say Please group.

I think the problem is exacerbated by the rush we all seem to be in nowadays. I think I’m pretty good at spelling (and certainly know when I don’t know how to spell something), but how many times have you sent something out with a spelling mistake because you haven’t had enough time to proof-read it properly? I know I have.  Not often, but once is once too many when it’s a report destined for a Board meeting.

The typo in the title of this post was deliberate, by the way. Don’t think the Associated Press headline mistake was, though. Made all the better for it being a story about a spelling bee.

Original story (once again) courtesy of the BBC: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-14130854

About djpaterson

Reader, Writer, Arithmeticer. Not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Grammar, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The impotance of spelling

  1. I’ve noticed more and more spelling mistakes in the ‘professional’ sites I read on the web, such as newspapers. It drives me crazy. I think you’re right about it being, in part at least, due to the rush everyone is in. It makes me wonder though, whatever happened to having pride in your work?

  2. Charlie S says:

    Every ‘phishing’ email I get includes one or more spelling mistakes. I guess if you see a website with spelling mistakes, it makes you wonder just how authentic the site is.

Look, if you've taken the time to read this, you may as well let me know by leaving a comment. Go on, you know you want to.

