Late to the party. Sorry Lee. And Jack.

Lee Child

As someone who likes technology, but is always a little slow to jump on any bandwagons, my (relatively) new best friend is my Kindle. I love the convenience of hearing or reading about an author, and having their book (or binary equivalent) in my hands within seconds. I’ve not given up on physical books, mind. The Kindle doesn’t look as good, leaning awkwardly at the end of the bookcase. But for sheer convenience, the Kindle is amazing. I reviewed Lawrence O’Bryan’s The Istanbul Puzzle about six weeks ago.  Since then I’ve read a couple of James Patterson’s Alex Cross novels (I love Alex Cross, but Patterson’s writing sometimes irritates me) and then decided to jump on the Lee Child bandwagon. And the Kindle made this fairly quick decision into a quick reality.

My brother is a big fan of Lee Child, and I’ve seen enough people with their nose in one of his books to know that he is popular. But I’d never read any of his stuff. So after a quick Google search on ‘Jack Reacher books in order’, I bought Killing Floor. And I was hooked! Over the last few weeks I’ve gone on to read Die Trying, Tripwire, The Visitor, Echo Burning, Without Fail, Persuader and The Enemy (a surprise prequel). Half-way through the series now, with One Shot waiting to be started later today.

And after becoming very familiar with the 6′ 5″ 230 – 250lb ex-Military Policeman, I can see what all the fuss is about after the casting of Tom Cruise (reputedly 5′ 7″ and 150lbs) to play Reacher. Perhaps they’re going to CGI him? After all, filmmakers worked wonders with 6′ 1″ John Rhys-Davies playing Gimli in The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

John Rhys-Davies

About djpaterson

Reader, Writer, Arithmeticer. Not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Books, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Late to the party. Sorry Lee. And Jack.

  1. Pete Denton says:

    I said I would never buy a Kindle. Never.

    And then I bought one. The main reason was to download all the ebooks written by the people I had met on Twitter and blogging. A lot of the books were only available on an ereader and Kindle (in the UK) was the sensible option for me.

    I love it and can read for longer without a break and have read some great books I wouldn’t have been near without it. I still enjoy the proper book. It does look better but for convenience, my Kindle wins.

    Happy reading.

    • djpaterson says:

      I had no plans to buy a Kindle. It was a gift to the family when we moved to the other side of the world, just 5 months ago. And it has been amazing – especially with an hour’s train commute each end of the day. I wouldn’t be without it now. But those special books will always be bought in ‘proper’ book version. But you are absolutely right. The sheer convenience of the Kindle is amazing.

      I carried out an unscientific survey of the train last week – E-readers to physical books. About 50:50. Looks like the world (including me) is catching on.

Look, if you've taken the time to read this, you may as well let me know by leaving a comment. Go on, you know you want to.

