Flash Fiction Friday

When I saw that Morgen Bailey was looking for an Independence Day themed piece of flash fiction for her Flash Fiction Friday pages of her blog, I thought I’d knock something up.

And if you haven’t come across Morgen before, she’s based in my old home county of Northamptonshire, England, and her website is an amazing resource for writers. Anyway, I’ll post the start of the story here, but you’ll have to go to her site to read the rest.

Fourth of July

I worked my way to the front of the crowd without raising a single murmur of annoyance from those I pushed past. Deceptively nimble. That’s what everyone used to say. Seems I still am.

I stopped at the kerb, and found myself in front of a cop. She was standing a few steps into the road, facing back towards me. I watched as she shifted from one foot to another and I guessed it wasn’t just the oppressive heat of a New York summer’s day that was making her uncomfortable. I realised she’d been tracking my progress, and I gripped the heavy metal object in my pants’ pocket a little tighter. I held my gaze, but she lost interest and looked away, scanning the rest of the crowd.

“That’s right, lady,” I muttered. “Just look past me. Everyone else does. You’re right, I’m no trouble.”

You can read the rest here.

About djpaterson

Reader, Writer, Arithmeticer. Not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Writers, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flash Fiction Friday

  1. Pingback: Short Story Podcast – The Fourth of July | djpaterson

Look, if you've taken the time to read this, you may as well let me know by leaving a comment. Go on, you know you want to.

