Review: Grey Magic, by JT Lawrence

51kjcbpkbul._sl500_

Did real-life witch Raven Kane murder one of her clients?

No one appreciates the irony of her situation more than Raven Kane: she’s a burnt-out witch … and that’s the least of her problems.

Accused of murder, this eccentric hexing-and-texting witch must explore her past lives to keep her freedom and find her way back to magic.

Not my usual read (or listen, as again this was an audiobook via Audible), but sometimes you’ve got to push the boundaries, and I’m glad I did.

I wasn’t sure when I first started listening. When you’re pretty much entrenched in a particular genre, wide as that may be, something quite different has a different effect on the reading experience. I’m also not sure how far into the book I was before I realised that I really liked the protagonist, and was keen to see how all this panned out. And things just got more and more interesting, until, towards the end, I found myself delaying having to do something as I had to listen to see how everything was resolved.

This modern witchcraft story is set in a slightly alternate reality South Africa, where witchcraft is alive and well, and people are keen to seek out the help of witches (often over the internet), but where the tensions of witch trials of old are bubbling just under the surface.

Raven Kane is accused of murder and finds herself under the watchful eye of Captain Kruger as he investigates the murder of one of her clients. But there seems to be more to Captain Kruger than meets the eye, and with herself in the frame and public attention starting to turn more hostile, Raven is facing an uphill struggle to keep her attraction to Kruger in check whilst trying to prove her innocence, neither of which is easy. Especially as she’s as guilty as the devil!

A very enjoyable listen – give it a go!

About djpaterson

Reader, Writer, Arithmeticer. Not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Books, Crime Fiction, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Look, if you've taken the time to read this, you may as well let me know by leaving a comment. Go on, you know you want to.